The BJP on Tuesday named Manipur Education and Law Minister Thounaojam Basanta Kumar Singh as its Lok Sabha candidate from the Inner Manipur seat.

The BJP’s central election committee announced the name of the state minister, who replaces Inner Manipur’s sitting MP and Union Minister Rajkumar Ranjan Singh.

Singh, 59, is the son of former Union Minister Thounaojam Chaoba Singh and is the MLA from Nambol constituency in Bishnupur district.

Meanwhile, the Naga People’s Front (NPF) and the Manipur People’s Party (MPP) fielded their candidates from the Outer Manipur Lok Sabha seat and Inner Manipur Lok Sabha seat, respectively. NPF candidate Kachui Timothy Zimik and MPP’s Rajkumar Somendro filed their nominations on Monday.

The INDIA bloc has fielded Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) Professor Akoijam Bimol and former MLA Alfred K Arthur, both from the Congress, as the alliance’s candidates from the Inner and Outer Manipur Lok Sabha seats, respectively.

The Lok Sabha elections in Manipur will be conducted in two phases, with the Inner Manipur constituency going to polls on April 19, along with at least 15 assembly segments of Outer Manipur. Thirteen assembly segments of Outer Manipur will go to polls on April 26.

Published By:

Ashutosh Acharya

Published On:

Mar 27, 2024

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *