Seven candidates filed nominations for the Lok Sabha elections from Inner Manipur constituency on the last day of filing nominations on Wednesday.

The candidates include Republican Party of India-Athawale’s Maheshwar Thounaojam, BJP’s Thounaojam Basanta Kumar Singh, Congress’s Angomcha Bimol Akoijam, Rashtriya Janhit Sangharsh Party’s Moirangthem Totomshana Nongshaba, Universal Family Party’s Ngasepam Nilakanta Singh and Haorungbam Sarat Singh, who filed nomination as an independent candidate.

Addressing the press, Deputy Commissioner of Imphal West, Thokchom Kiran, said that in total, seven candidates, including one independent candidate, filed their nomination papers.

Nomination papers were filed peacefully and the scrutiny will be conducted on Thursday at 11 am, Kiran said. He appealed to all people to cast their votes.

The Manipur People’s Party (MPP) candidate for the Inner Manipur seat, RK Somendro Singh filed his nomination paper on Tuesday.

The Lok Sabha elections in Manipur will be conducted in two phases.

Published By:

Ashutosh Acharya

Published On:

Mar 27, 2024

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *